Among the Lesser Gods A Novel Margo Catts
 
Hardback
9781628727395
$24.99
ebook
9781628727401
$24.99
For fans of authors like Barbara Kingsolver and Leif Enger, a stunning new voice in contemporary literary fiction.

“Tragedy and blessing. Leave them alone long enough, and it gets real hard to tell them apart.”

Elena Alvarez is living a cursed life. From the deadly fire she accidentally set as a child, to her mother’s abandonment, and now to an unwanted pregnancy, she knows better than most that small actions can have terrible consequences. Driven to the high mountains surrounding Leadville, Colorado by her latest bad decision, she’s intent on putting off the future. Perhaps there she can just hide in her grandmother’s isolated cabin and wait for something—anything—to make her next choice for her.

Instead, she is confronted by reflections of her own troubles wherever she turns—the recent widower and his two children adrift in a changed world, Elena’s own mysterious family history, and the interwoven lives within the town itself. Bit by bit, Elena begins to question her understanding of cause and effect, reexamining the tragedies she’s held on to and the wounds she’s refused to let heal.

But when the children go missing, Elena’s fragile new peace is shattered. It’s only at the prospect of fresh loss and blame that she will discover the truth of the terrible burdens we take upon ourselves, the way tragedy and redemption are inevitably intertwined—and how curses can sometimes lead to blessings, however disguised.
TitleAmong the Lesser Gods
SubtitleA Novel
AuthorMargo Catts
PublisherSkyhorse Publishing
ImprintArcade Publishing
Published9 May 2017
FormatHardback
ISBN-139781628727395
Pages336
Dimensions6.00 x 9.00in.

About the author

Margo Catts grew up in Los Angeles and has since lived in Utah, Indiana, and Colorado. After raising three children in the U.S., she and her husband moved to Saudi Arabia, where her Foreign Girl blog was well known in the expat community. Originally a freelance editor for textbooks and magazines, she has also done freelance writing for business, technical, and advertising clients, all the while working on her fiction. She is a contributing author to Once Upon an Expat. Among the Lesser Gods is her first novel. She now lives in Denver, Colorado.

Praise for Margo Catts' Among the Lesser Gods:

“If Anne Tyler turned her attention to the inter-generational intrigue of small town Colorado, it might look something like Margo Catts' arresting debut. Drenched in lyrical language and blade's edge observation with a heartbreaking secret at its core, Among the Lesser Gods is an essential American love story for our nomadic, unrooted times.” – Carrie La Seur, author of The Home Place

"Margo Catts’ compassionate observation of human nature shines through in her unforgettable characters, as she immerses the  reader in lives that are torn by tragedy, challenged, and changed. This is a finely crafted and uplifting novel full of warmth, wisdom, and generosity of spirit." - Judith Allnatt, author of The Silk Road

“I didn’t want the story to end, even as I was desperate to know what would happen next.”  - Tiffany Quay Tyson, author of Three Rivers
    
“Margo Catts has a sharp eye for the intricacies of family, love, and tragedy. In luminous prose, she deftly explores the impact of the past upon our lives. This is a heartfelt book that will break your heart at times and at others fill you with joy.” – Daniel Robinson, author of After the Fire
ISBNs: 9781628727395 978-1-62872-739-5 Title: among the lesser gods category:FIC ISBNs: 9781628727401 978-1-62872-740-1 Title: among the lesser gods category:FIC 
Back to top